Notice of Property Tax Assessment - Helpful Information
WHAT IS THE NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT?
Georgia law requires that every Georgia property owner receive a Notice of Assessment no later than July. Every owner of real property in Georgia will receive a Notice of Assessment. The notice states the assessor’s determination of value for taxation purposes. Every taxpayer will receive a notice, regardless of whether or not there has been a change. The Notice will also state the estimated tax based on the assessor’s value (the tax estimate is based on the previous year millage rates since the current year is not yet determined). If the Property has been sold, either the seller or the new owner may appeal the valuation.
APPEAL DEADLINES AND WHAT DO THEY MEAN?
Any taxpayer who wishes to dispute the value contained in the Notice MUST do so within 45 days from the date of the Notice. Failure to do so will eliminate any ability to dispute the value or the tax for that calendar year. There is a small 45-day window and if you do not exercise your right to dispute the value within that time frame, you lose the right.
WANT TO APPEAL?
The clock starts ticking on the date on the Notice. Don’t wait! NEED HELP? Contact me for any specific questions you may have. Our partners at Campbell and Brannon offer Property Tax Services and can help you discern your options.
Contact us for any specific questions you may have. Our partners at Campbell and Brannon offer Property Tax Services and can help you discern your options.
Contact Evans Hale in the Campbell & Brannon Property Tax Division to assist you with appeal questions. c. 404.504.8700